Lenten Journal – Day 4: Promises

Ever heard that promises are made to be broken? Those who say this phrase know exactly what it’s like and how it feels when a promise is made to you and was not kept; the disappointment and hurt that it brings. Then it would be harder to believe in a promise again or to trust once more.

Today’s first reading reminds us of God’s promise to us:

And the Lord will guide you continually, and satisfy your desire with good things, and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden, like a spring of water, whose waters fail not. And your ancient ruins shall be rebuilt; you shall raise up the foundations of many generations; you shall be called the repairer of the breach, the restorer of streets to dwell in.” – Isaiah 58:11-12

To be honest, when the going gets tough, I used to question God and about His promises. Why has He not heard my prayers? After all I’ve done, it would seem that sufferings and trials increases and become more intense.

I’m writing with tears in my eyes. People have let me down. They have hurt me. Especially those who promised to love, protect and cherish me. When I made my wedding vows, I thought it was meant to be forever. Only to be shattered with the reality that I’m now divorced. Trust has become an issue and words become empty. Maybe that is why it’s hard for me to see truth in God’s promises.

Amidst all these pain, sorrow and confusion, God’s small voice echoes inside my heart. People change but God does not. People break their promises, but God remains forever true to His Words. I just need to trust Him.

“Lord, I believe. Help my unbelief! Jesus, I trust in You!”

Leave a Reply

