Lenten Journal – Day 5: Consequences

“For as by one man’s disobedience many were made sinners, so by one man’s obedience many will be made righteous.” – Romans 5:19

Everything has consequences; every action causes reaction; every word and every thought sets an energy into motion and subsequently that energy comes right back on us. Call it karma or law of attraction or fate or destiny or Divine Will or God’s judgement. Call it whatever you want to call it. We all know it; like the forces of nature or law of gravity; there are consequences to all our choices and decisions, thoughts, actions and words; which we all have to make an account for. A single thought can determine the course of the day; a single word can lift up somebody’s mood and a single act can change a human heart.

During this lent, I’m training myself once again to think of the consequences of my thoughts, words and actions. And sometimes, I think of the outcome first, even before the circumstance that would lead me to that result occurs. Like when I get up in the morning, I would be thankful for the day ahead and would try to visualize how the day would go. I would try to feel the good feeling I would have once I have actualized what I have set my goals for the day. Regardless of what my body would tell me, or how the weather is outside my window; I am determined to make the best of the day.

A single moment of unawareness could lead to falling into temptation. Like last evening, my daughter made a chocolate marshmallow biscuits. It looked very delicious but I’m fasting from chocolates. My 5 year old daughter asked me to try just  once. So in order to please her (and myself as well), I thought that one bite would not hurt me. I told myself that I can be strong. Five minutes later, and I was still eating with my daughter. Then I realized that I have fallen. I totally forgot everything about fasting, just because of that one bite. Forgive me, Lord! The whole experience showed me how fragile I am and easily swayed. I have a long way to go; need so much more discipline. Thank God that a single word could make me go back in track again! I’m not perfect, juzt plain me.

 

Leave a Reply

