Lenten Journal – Day 6: Accountability 

Matthew 25:40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

I know that I have to give an account of everything I do and say. I alone am responsible for the life I’m living, no one else. I am responsible for my emotions, thoughts and well-being, whether mental or physical.

I can’t always control the circumstances around me but I have a choice how to respond to them. And I will be held accountable with the response I give.

I am accountable for my time and money. If I use them wisely, it will bring goodness in life. I am a accountable for my God given talents. If I use them and develop them, I will have a better self image and stronger self esteem. I am accountable for my kids. I may not control their future (nor their hormones), but I am responsible to teach them about life and love; be their example and inspiration. So that, even if they fail big time, they know that there is a person and a place for them to go to that is full of love, forgiveness, mercy and compassion. I am accountable with the relationships I have with others. I may not be able to change how they see me, whether they like me or not, but I have to exemplify what real authentic Christian love is. I have to nurture and nourish my relationships.

I am also accountable for the things I should have done but didn’t do. Those moments when I should have said something but instead remained silent. The times that I should have been tough and stronger but instead gave in to the majority. When excellence was called for but I stayed in mediocrity; staying idle and in sloth.

To whom am I accountable to? To myself, my families, friends, neighbors, colleagues, Church, to the stranger, to my country, to Mother Earth, the Universe….the list can go on. But ultimately, I will stand before our great God.

And hopefully, when the time comes, I want to hear these words, “Well done, my good and faithful servant!” – Matthew 25:21

Leave a Reply

