Lenten Journal – Day 8: Signs

Luke 11:30 – “For as Jonah became a sign to the men of Nineveh, so will the Son of man be to this generation.”

We live in a world where there are signs everywhere; except of course if you live out in the desert or deep in a jungle. I’m talking about if you live in a city or town or province where there are traffic signs, road signs, name of the streets, billboards, so on and so forth. Signs are put there for: guidance and direction so we don’t loose our way; prevention so we can be cautious and aware of the dangers ahead; information so we can be know the choices we have thus to decide accordingly.

We also read the signs of the time, the turning of a season or when something is about to happen. Our subconsciousness receive “signs” and we read them as intuitions or that gut feeling. We just know but cannot explain nor understand why or what. Honestly, some of the regrets I have in life are not paying attention or taking heed to those inner intuitions; that there’s something not quite right.

This Lent, God is calling me to pay more attention; to be more sensitive to His promptings; and to be more attentive to the needs of others. I know that the only way I can sharpen my senses or intuitions and grow in my awareness, is by being silent and to remove all the clutter in my mind, my heart and in my life. I need to have a stronger self-discipline to be able to do that; and I have to do it everyday. Most of all, I need God’s grace.

 

Leave a Reply

