Lenten Journal – Day 13: I refuse

Luke 6:36-38: “Jesus said to his disciples:
“Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.
Stop judging and you will not be judged.
Stop condemning and you will not be condemned.
Forgive and you will be forgiven.
Give and gifts will be given to you;
a good measure, packed together, shaken down, and overflowing,
will be poured into your lap.
For the measure with which you measure
will in return be measured out to you.”

 

I refuse to give in. I refuse to give up. I refuse to give in when temptations are in front of me. I refuse to give up when tiredness and hardships confront me. Stubbornness you may say, but in a good sense. When I am pursuing something of importance; determined and unmovable in my attitudes, I can be stubborn. I wish I can say the same when Jesus sets higher standards and call to love.

” Be holy….” – 1 Peter 1:15-16

“Be perfect…” –  Matthew 5:38

“Be merciful…” – Luke 6:36

Sometimes, I refuse to be taught and accept correction. Pride sets in and reasons to prove that I am right; self-righteous covered in false humility.

Sometimes, I refuse to listen to anybody other than myself. I refuse to see the goodness of others, but instead judging them according to my own set of standards.

Sometimes, I refuse to forget the past, specially the wrong that was done to me, the hurt and the injustice. I refuse to let go and to forgive.

Sometimes, I refuse to see the sufferings and pain of others; to reach out and lend some helping hands. I refuse to see the homeless, or the refugee, or the addict, or the criminal.

When I refuse, I accept at the same time. When I refuse to be kind, I accept sin to come into my life. When I refuse sin, I accept life and love to rule over my life.

When I refuse, I have to be sure what I’m saying no to and to whom I’m saying yes for.

 

Leave a Reply

