Lenten Journal – Day 18: Finding the way back home

In Luke 15:11-32, we read about the The Parable of the Prodigal Son, the Merciful Father and the Brother. I heard the story many times and have read countless reflections about the story. But this time, I asked myself, “What pushed the son to ask for his inheritance?” Probably to enjoy life or to find something more than just what he was used to: like many other teenagers or young adults that feel a need to venture out in the big wide world, a curiosity or longing to experience something that was beyond the comfort of their homes. Or maybe just trying to figure out their identity.

I just watched a film titled, “Lion” last evening. It is a film based on a true life story about a five year old boy who was looking for his older brother, innocently boarded a train, fell asleep and traveled so far that he couldn’t find his way back home. The story is different from the story of the prodigal son, but they both have one thing in common – the longing to find their way back home. Because in finding home, you find yourself.

So many times, I felt lost. I didn’t know who I am or where to go anymore. How can I find myself? How can I go from here to there? And where is there? Somehow, in the deepest part of my heart, there is a still small voice saying, “You are your Father’s daughter. That’s who you are and so much more.” And only in accepting that truth, I find my home. Because my home is with God, my Father and with my Beloved Jesus.

The road of Lent in life is long and hard. There are lots of soul searching and heart breaking sacrifices. The cross is waiting at the end of the road. But it’s the journey I have to take. As I go, I learn more not only about myself but about the things that are important in life. And knowing that Easter is right after, gives me much comfort. And I know that God is with me all the time and all the way through.

Leave a Reply

