Lenten Journal – Day 22: Learn and be wise

Deuteronomy 4:9 – But take care and watch yourselves closely, so as neither to forget the things that your eyes have seen nor to let them slip from your mind all the days of your life; make them known to your children and your children’s children.

From today’s Mass readings, this is the verse that struck me most, “take care….watch yourselves closely….neither to forget….nor let them slip from your mind…all the days of your life….

Yesterday, I wrote about being forgiving and merciful; but does it mean that I have to turn a blind eye towards the wrongdoing? or the injustice? the oppression? For me, forgiveness and mercy do not mean tolerating or condoning to the destructive or abusive behavior. Yes, I can forgive but I should not be naive to let the other person continue his abuse against me; specially when others are also affected. Yes, I can forgive but it does not mean that I have to let a destructive person back into my life, just so he can take it away from me. I can show mercy by praying for the person who hurt me. I can lend a helping hand when it’s necessary and with the intention of convicting the other person to change his/ her ways. Yes, I can give my “other cheek” or walk “extra miles”, but I only have two cheeks and a pair of feet.

There is a time for everything. In Ecclesiastes 3:1 we read, “For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven.” And as time goes, we need to learn and be wise; in matters of life and love, of good and evil, of when to keep and when to let go. This Lent, I’m thinking: about the people who have hurt me, about the person who have hurt me most, about what have I done towards them and about what will I do about them.What are the lessons that God intended me to learn from or has the situation made me wiser?

Leave a Reply

