Lenten Journal – Day 29: Listen…and live!

Wednesday of the Fourth Week of Lent

John 5:25 –  “Very truly, I tell you, the hour is coming, and is now here, when the dead will hear the voice of the Son of God, and those who hear will live.”

I was dead, not physically but spiritually. I was dead because of my sins. I was burned to death; only to be called back to life. So from the ashes I rose up as a new creation. Before I was baptized with water and Spirit; I was just an empty shell and a hollow soul. It was through Baptism I gained life and became a daughter of the Most High. It was through the power of the Holy Spirit that made me to see and perceive, to hear and listen with my whole being, to live in freedom and to love wholeheartedly. That is life – to be aware and totally immerse in the presence and love of God.

How often did I forget about life? How many times have I fallen short of appreciating life? Have I really listening to the voice of God?

Lent is a season to reflect about life and death; how we live our lives; and how we die everyday. We die because of our sins, Jesus offers forgiveness and deliverance so we can live. But in order to live, we must die; die to ourselves, our selfishness and sinfulness. Are we willing to listen to Christ? are we willing to go with Him all the way to Calvary? so that on Easter, we would rise with Him into new life!

Leave a Reply

